Creative Musings, Part II

If you’re any good at what you do, you were at the beach last week. But, as Lou Reed says, “some folks like us/we gotta work”. Either way, you’re reading this now. Let’s see; birds are flapping oily wings in The Gulf (they may fly north this winter), the Dow dipped under 10, we survived the global calamity known as the Fifa World Cup (their referees make our baseball umpires look pretty good), and Larry King may open a bagel store. You haven’t missed much.

Don’t you feel like marketing has become so “targeted” that if you’re not a Facebook fan of a brand, you’re nothing?  If we are what we eat, what am I, chopped liver? Do me a favor, if I ever become a fan of Jiffy Auto Lube (Become a fan of Jiffy Lube), please shoot me and put me out of my misery. You have my permission. I just need an oil change.

It’s times like these when we need Cliff Freeman more than ever. When was the last time you saw a really funny ad? Unless you think Betty White getting hammered into the mud is funny: video.  Or a semi-racist pot shot at Western Asians: video (where’s the whistle-blowing FCC? — oh, in Washington, duh). Or a beer ad where some modern-day Blutarsky wreaks massive destruction on the neighborhood cookout.

Since it’s summertime, everyone does a summer reading list. So I won’t. But, here’s a shortlist download of my favorite summer-themed songs for your iPod:

When you buy a pound of Swiss cheese at the deli, do they factor in the holes?

I’ve never been to Cannes. My main interest in titanium is at the end of a Callaway Grafalloy shaft. The notion of a “Titanium” award seems a little too self-important to me anyway. But, I do love going to NYC in early May for The One Show. The notion of a Gold Pencil feels a lot more in line with our industry than a Titanium “Lion”. Although it does look a little like the Cowardly Lion from The Wizard of Oz, so maybe it is aptly named. The One Show is the substance; Cannes, the style. I do, however, get this feeling that the Ticonderoga #2 may soon appear on the endangered species list.

Bogusky leaves MDC. What was the over/under on how long Alex would hunker down on a corporate job? If you had the over and 5 months, you lost. My prediction is he soon shows up on TV with his own show. He’ll be like Donny Deutsch, except interesting.

Actually, I think the most interesting guy in our industry is Roy Spence of GSD&M. Roy is a larger-than-life personality in an era of very small ad men. For good summer reading, try his book on purpose-based branding, It’s Not What You Sell, It’s What You Stand For: itsnotwhatyousell.com

I’m shuffling off to Shutter Island for my vacation. Ttyl.

One thought on “Creative Musings, Part II

Leave a Reply

